Asset 3


End of content No more pages to load

Your search did not match any articles

Chulpan Khamatova Joined the Aurora Prize Expert Panel

ChulpanKhamatova, the co-founder of Gift of Life Foundation has joined the Independent Expert Panel of the Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity. The famous Russian actress, who has been involved in humanitarian activities for years, will take part in the assessment of the 2017 Aurora Prize nominations.

The Independent Expert Panel is part of the Aurora Prize Secretariat. The members of the Expert Panel assess all eligible nominations in accordance with the Aurora Prize Selection Criteria to narrow the overall list to 20-25 nominees for the Selection Committee’s attention.

“It is horrendous to read about the suffering of people who, even in this age,liveon the line between life and death but it is also heartwarming for me to learn about these modern day heroes. Their existence, brave and committed actions prove that nothing is lost and human life still has an absolute value”, said ChulpanKhamatova. “I am extremely honored having an opportunity to become part of this humanitarian movement and contribute to the process of pre-selection of the 2017 Aurora Prize’s laureate. This is a very important and challenging experience.”

The Expert Panel is comprised of humanitarian professionals and leaders of humanitarian organizations. The members of the 2017 Aurora Prize Expert Panel are Dr. Comfort Ero, Crisis Group's Nairobi-based Africa Program Director, Dr. Jonathan Fanton, President of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,Mr. Stephen Kurkjian, journalist, winner of the Pulitzer Prize,Ms. Lesley-Anne Knight,Mr. Pedro Mouratian, Expert-Consultant to the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Former CEO of The Elders,Dr. AryehNeier, President Emeritus ofthe Open Society Foundations,Prof. MichaelPosner, Co-Director of the Center for Business and Human Rights of New York University Stern School of Business,Ms. Nicola Reindorp, Campaign Director of Crisis Action,Mr. Eric Schwartz, Former US Assistant Secretary of State for Population, Refugees, and Migration andDr. Mego Terzian, President of Medecins Sans Frontieres France.

The pre-selected nominees of the Aurora Prize are being considered by the Selection Committee chaired by Academy Award-winning actor and humanitarian George Clooney. The Selection Committee will announce the 2017 Aurora Prize finalists in February.

Write a comment

If you found a typo you can notify us by selecting the text area and pressing CTRL+Enter