Wednesday, 13 December
About us

Hetq Online has been published in Yerevan since 2001 by the Association of Investigative Journalists NGO. In 2004 the organization re-registered as the Investigative Journalists NGO. Initially publishing content in Armenian, Hetq Online has also been publishing its articles and investigations in the English language since 2002.

In December 2002, Hetq won 1st Prize in Investigative Journalism from Internews-Armenia.

In December 2003, the Investigative Journalists was recognized as the NGO that most effectively used the right to file for information at a ceremony organized by the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) Armenian office.

In 2004, the Armenian branch of Transparency International awarded the Investigative Journalists NGO a prize for its significant contribution to the struggle against corruption in Armenia.

In January 2004, the series of films “Hrazdan Gorge: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” won Second Prize in a competition organized by the Aarhus Armenian Centre of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) on ‘Environmental Themes Represented in Media’.

In 2007 Hetq received the “Incentive Award” from the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) in the Environmental Journalism Competition category. 

For three years running, Hetq reporters have won “Ditak” (Observer) award at the Tvapatum Investigative Journalism Competition. 

Here’s a comprehensive list of Hetq’s awards and honors:

Since Novermber 2008 the Hetq Online has been updated every day.

Among its many achievements, Hetq Online is the first publication in Armenia to adopt a Code of Ethics and every journalist working with us is obliged to follow the principles of this code.

One peculiarity of Hetq Online is that journalistic investigations are often conducted by teams — a new practice in Armenian journalism. These teams also work on investigative documentary films for Hetq which are broadcast on different TV stations in the Republic of Armenia.

Students from the Department of Journalism at Yerevan State University also receive practical experience by working with Hetq Online.

Starting in 2017, the Investigative Journalists NGO has conducted a program to help develop investigative journalism for reporters working in Central Asia. Reporters from Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan have already visited the Hetq office in Yerevan, attending two-week training courses given by senior Hetq journalists. Over the years, Hetq, and its reporters, have received numerous international and local awards and honors for its unique coverage of a wide-range of issues in Armenia and the region. 

 

Editor in Chief Edik Baghdasaryanhetq@hetq.am
Deputy Editor Liana Sayadyanlians@hetq.am
English Language Editor Hrant Gadarigianhg.hetq@gmail.com

Russian Language Editor Marine Margaryan
Webmaster Vardan Torosyanvardsolo@gmail.com
Hetq LLC Manager Christine Barseghyankristine@hetq.am

Reporters

Kristine Aghalaryan kristine.a@hetq.am
Armen Arakelyan hetq@hetq.am
Grisha Balasanyan hetq@hetq.am
Hrach Bayadyan  hrachb@yahoo.com
Seda Grigoryan hetq@hetq.am
Levon Hayrapetyan hetq@hetq.am
Ani Hovhannisyan ani.hovhannisyan@gmail.com
Tatev Khachatryan khachatrian.tatev@gmail.com
Anush Kocharyan anushkoch@gmail.com
Marine Madatyan marine.madatyan@hetq.am
Marine Martirosyan marine.martirosyan@yahoo.com
Larisa Paremuzyan larisaparemuzyan@yandex.ru
Sara Petrosyan sara@hetq.am 
Vahe Sarukhanyan vahe@hetq.am
Yeranuhi Soghoyan sogheran@mail.ru

 

The website is supported by the Open Society Foundations - Armenia, within the Mass Media program, grant N18623. The opinions and analyses expressed in the articles are those of the authors and are not approved by the OSF- Armenia or its Board.

Our website is made possible by the generous support of the American People through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).The contents of the website are the sole responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of USAID or the United States Government.


“Our Soldiers, Our Heroes” project is presented with support from Catherine and Lauren Conrow through The Paros Foundation’s “Projects for Prosperity initiative.”

Contact us

Our Address
1/3, Str. Buzand, 8th floor
Yerevan, Republic of Armenia

Tel.՝ (374-10) 56-33-63
Fax՝ (374-10) 58-11-02
E-mail՝ info@hetq.am