Grisha Balasanyan

Governing Coalition Boycotts Vote on Bill to Recognize Artsakh Independence

Armenia’s National Assembly today rejected a bill introduced by Heritage Party MP Zarouhie Postanjyan calling Armenia to officially recognize the independence of Artsakh.

The ruling government coalition (the Republican Party and Rule of Law) boycotted the vote, thus nullifying the entire process. (More than half the National Assembly’s 131 deputies must participate in a vote for it to be valid)

The final vote was 10 to 0, in support of the bill. There was one abstention (MP Alexander Arzoumanyan). 

The bill, rejected after the first hearing, was supported by MPs of the Heritage Part and the ARF.

MP Galoust Sahakyan, speaking on behalf of the coalition, said that they would not participate “to express their disgust regarding such a debate.” 

Prosperous Armenia Party MPs also sat out the vote. Faction Secretary Nayira Zohrabyan said the Artsakh issue should not be treated like small change in the hands of political forces.

HAK (Armenian National Congress) faction head Levon Zurabyan also didn’t vote on the bill.

Independent MP Edmon Maroukyan stated that he wouldn’t be voting so as to not endanger the safety of Armenian soldiers guarding the borders.