Asset 3


End of content No more pages to load

Your search did not match any articles

Vahe Sarukhanyan

Airlines Registered in Armenia Remain on EU’s Blacklist

Airlines registered in Armenia will remain on the European Commission’s “blacklist”, prohibiting them from entering EU airspace.

European regulators say they are not satisfied with steps Armenia has taken to comply with EU safety standards.

Air carriers registered in Armenia were placed on the “blacklist” (officially called the EU Air Safety List) in June 2020. An updated listing was released on November 23.

The list consists of two appendices. Appendix A includes companies whose activities are completely banned in the EU. Appendix B includes access to specific aircraft.

Armenia was placed, and remains, in Appendix A.

According to the new listing, the following companies are banned from operating in EU airspace:

The new listing bans 118 air carriers from EU skies.

91 airlines certified in 15 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities in these states. 

22 airlines certified in Russia, as well as 5 individual airlines, based on safety concerns with regard to these airlines themselves: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional two airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types (Appendix B): Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).

Write a comment

If you found a typo you can notify us by selecting the text area and pressing CTRL+Enter